Best Dog Paw Cleaner by Paw Size: Cup Washers, Electric Washers and Mats Compared

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Quick answer

The best dog paw cleaner is the one whose published size range matches your dog's paw width. Measure the widest part of a front paw. Up to 2 in, look at MudBuster Small. From 2.5 to 3.5 in, MudBuster Medium. Above 3.5 in, MudBuster Large. Paw Plunger sizes by weight only.

Updated October 13, 2026. This best dog paw cleaner guide is a size comparison for muddy, sandy and salty walks. We list 10 products in three groups: cup washers (the MudBuster and Paw Plunger type), electric washers and absorbent mats. Nine have specs published by a maker or retailer and are compared below. The other one is listed by name only, at the end. Specs last checked: October 13, 2026 Instead of ranking by opinion, we line up the figures each maker publishes and say which paw each size is meant for.

Quick answer: which dog paw cleaner for which paw

Measure first, then pick. These are the segment leaders by published specification. They are not quality rankings, because we have not used any of these products.

Your dogStart withWhy, from the specs
Paws up to 2 in wideDexas MudBuster SmallThe only cup whose maker states a paw range ending at 2 in. Outer size 4.3 × 3.65 in.
Paws 2.5 to 3.5 inDexas MudBuster Medium, Eufy AutomaticMudBuster Medium states 2.5 to 3.5 in and publishes its size, 6 × 4 in. The Eufy, an electric washer, states 2.3 to 3.5 in (maker support page).
Paws wider than 3.5 inDexas MudBuster LargeThe only cup that states a paw width above 3.5 in. Outer size 8.85 × 4.75 in.
Dogs sized by weightPaw Plunger Petite, Medium, LargeSeller guidance is up to 15 lb, 15 to 75 lb and over 75 lb. No paw-width range is published.
Long coat, feathered feetPaw Plunger Medium or LargeLargest published openings, 3.5 in and 4.5 in. This one is our inference, since no maker gives coat guidance.
Car or travelMudBuster Small or MediumShortest bodies among cups with a stated paw range: 4.3 in and 6 in tall.
No water, battery poweredEufy Automatic Dog Paw CleanerThe only electric model with a published paw range (2.3 to 3.5 in) and dimensions.
No cup at allSoggy Doggy mat, Large or X-LargePublished mat sizes, 26 × 36 in and 36 × 60 in.

Do you even need a paw cleaner?

Maybe not. A towel kept by the door and a bowl of water does the same job and costs nothing. For occasional mud, an old rag is enough.

A cup starts to make sense in a few situations:

  • The mud is a routine: a wet climate, a daily trail walk or a yard that turns to slop each spring.
  • You want the washing step quick and contained, with the water in a cup instead of on the floor and the dog.
  • You travel or camp and want something that fits in a car door pocket or a bag.
  • Your dog tolerates a paw being held but dislikes a hose or the bathtub.

Skip the cup if your dog will not put a paw in, if the dirt is mostly dry dust (a towel or wipe is quicker), or if you only need a rinse once in a while. If the problem is red, sore or constantly licked paws, that is a question for your vet, not a gadget.

How we chose and compared them

We did not use any of these products. Every figure on this page is the maker's published specification, taken from the sources behind each entry and dated. Where a maker does not publish a number, the table says "Not stated by maker" instead of guessing. Where two sources disagree, for example a retailer listing and the maker's store giving different paw ranges for the same size, we use the maker's store and say so. The full method is on our how we research page.

The criteria are the ones that decide whether a cup fits at all:

  1. Paw-width fit. The range the maker says the size is made for.
  2. Outer size and opening. How much room it takes and how wide the mouth is.
  3. Bristle material. Shown only when the maker publishes it.
  4. Lid, dishwasher safety, power. Shown when published.

Most of these figures came from search extracts of maker and seller pages, because several maker sites block direct fetching. We do not use Amazon listing text for any specification. Treat the figures as a starting point and confirm the size on the maker's page before you order.

Spec matrix: all cup washers

ProductSizeOpeningDepthPaw width fitsBristlesLidDishwasher safeSource checked
Dexas MudBusterSmall4.3 × 3.65 in outerNot stated by makerNot stated by makerup to 2 insiliconeNot stated by makerNot stated by maker2026-10-13
Dexas MudBusterMedium6 × 4 in outerNot stated by makerNot stated by maker2.5–3.5 insiliconeNot stated by makerNot stated by maker2026-10-13
Dexas MudBusterLarge8.85 × 4.75 in outerNot stated by makerNot stated by makerfrom 3.5 insiliconeNot stated by makerNot stated by maker2026-10-13
Paw PlungerPetite2 inNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by maker2026-10-13
Paw PlungerMedium3.5 inNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by maker2026-10-13
Paw PlungerLarge4.5 inNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by maker2026-10-13

Figures are the makers’ published specifications. = not stated by the maker.

Two things stand out. Only MudBuster states a paw width, so the Paw Plunger cannot be matched to your dog by measurement at all. And no maker in this group publishes a cup depth or a dishwasher statement that we could confirm.

Which paw widths are actually covered?

Most roundups skip this part. We took the paw-width ranges the makers publish and checked which widths each range covers. Several ranges stop short of each other, so some paws fall between sizes.

Front paw widthProducts that publish a matching range
Up to 2.0 inMudBuster Small
2.0 to 2.3 inNone. This gap sits between MudBuster Small and the next published range.
2.3 to 2.5 inEufy Automatic only
2.5 to 3.0 inMudBuster Medium, Eufy Automatic
3.0 to 3.5 inMudBuster Medium, Eufy Automatic
Above 3.5 inMudBuster Large

If your dog's paw is 2.0 to 2.3 in, no listed maker range includes it. You may still find a cup that works, but you would be guessing. The Paw Plunger sizes by weight, so you can at least compare its openings of 2 in, 3.5 in and 4.5 in with your measurement. The opening is the mouth of the cup, which is not the same as the paw width the maker intends it to take. Use the paw cleaner size finder to run your number against every range at once.

Best dog paw cleaner by segment

Small dogs (paws up to 2 in, under about 15 lb)

MudBuster Small is the one with a stated paw range, up to 2 in, and a compact 4.3 in body. Paw Plunger Petite is the weight-based alternative: seller guidance is for puppies and dogs up to 15 lb, with a 2 in opening. Pick the MudBuster if you have measured the paw and the Petite if you would rather go by weight.

Dexas MudBuster Small

Cup paw washer

Paw width fits
up to 2 in
Dog weight (maker guidance)
Not stated by maker
Bristles
silicone
Lid
Not stated by maker

What the maker says

  • Soft silicone bristles inside an easy-to-grip tumbler
  • Sized for smaller dogs, paws up to 2 in wide

View on Amazon

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: store.dexas.com

Paw Plunger Petite

Cup paw washer

Paw width fits
Not stated by maker
Dog weight (maker guidance)
up to 15 (seller guidance)
Bristles
Not stated by maker
Lid
Not stated by maker

What the maker says

  • For puppies and dogs up to 15 lb

View on Amazon

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: petppi.com, store.rover.com

Medium dogs (paws 2.5 to 3.5 in)

MudBuster Medium states 2.5 to 3.5 in and publishes its size (6 × 4 in), so it is the cup to start with. If you want an electric washer instead, the Eufy states 2.3 to 3.5 in and is described by its maker as designed for large and medium dogs. Paw Plunger Medium covers 15 to 75 lb by seller guidance, a very wide span, so measure the paw against its 3.5 in opening before you rely on it.

Dexas MudBuster Medium

Cup paw washer

Paw width fits
2.5–3.5 in
Dog weight (maker guidance)
Not stated by maker
Bristles
silicone
Lid
Not stated by maker

What the maker says

  • Soft silicone bristles inside an easy-to-grip tumbler
  • Sized for medium dogs, paws 2.5 to 3.5 in wide

View on Amazon

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: store.dexas.com

Paw Plunger Medium

Cup paw washer

Paw width fits
Not stated by maker
Dog weight (maker guidance)
15-75 (seller guidance)
Bristles
Not stated by maker
Lid
Not stated by maker

What the maker says

  • For medium dogs 15-75 lb

View on Amazon

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: chewy.com, store.rover.com

Large and giant dogs (paws above 3.5 in, over about 75 lb)

MudBuster Large is the only cup that states a paw width above 3.5 in. Paw Plunger Large has the biggest published opening of any cup here, 4.5 in. It is for dogs over 75 lb by seller guidance. Neither maker publishes an upper paw limit, so measure.

Dexas MudBuster Large

Cup paw washer

Paw width fits
from 3.5 in
Dog weight (maker guidance)
Not stated by maker
Bristles
silicone
Lid
Not stated by maker

What the maker says

  • Soft silicone bristles inside an easy-to-grip tumbler
  • Sized for large and extra-large dogs, paws above 3.5 in wide

View on Amazon

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: store.dexas.com

Paw Plunger Large

Cup paw washer

Paw width fits
Not stated by maker
Dog weight (maker guidance)
over 75 (seller guidance)
Bristles
Not stated by maker
Lid
Not stated by maker

What the maker says

  • For dogs over 75 lb

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: store.rover.com

Long-haired dogs

No maker publishes guidance for coat length, so this pick is our reasoning, not a maker claim. Feathered feet need room for the hair as well as the paw, so a wider opening is the sensible thing to compare. By that measure, look at Paw Plunger Medium (3.5 in) and Large (4.5 in) first. If your dog sits near a MudBuster size boundary, go up a size.

Travel and car

For a washer that lives in the car, body size is the main spec. MudBuster Small (4.3 in tall) and Medium (6 in) are the shortest with a stated paw range. The Dexas store also lists a Medium with a lid as a separate product, which helps if a cup of water rides in a bag. For a very large dog, plan on the 8.85 in MudBuster Large taking real space.

No water: electric washers and mats

If you do not want to fill a cup, the options are a battery-powered washer or a mat. The next two sections cover both.

Electric (automatic) paw washers

An electric washer spins a bristle cup so you do not twist the paw yourself. The Eufy is the only electric washer we list, because it is the only one with maker-published specs: a paw-width range, dimensions and battery.

ProductModelPowerPaw width fitsDog weight (maker guidance)BristlesDishwasher safeSource checked
Eufy Automatic Dog Paw CleanerNot stated by makerbuilt-in rechargeable 2600 mAh battery2.3–3.5 inNot stated by makerNot stated by makerNot stated by maker2026-10-13

Figures are the makers’ published specifications. = not stated by the maker.

  • Eufy Automatic Dog Paw Cleaner. Maker support page: 9.31 in tall, 4.44 in wide, paws 2.3 to 3.5 in, built-in 2600 mAh battery. The maker says one 4 to 5 minute wash a day gives about two weeks per full charge, depending on use. It is described as designed for large and medium dogs.

A motor and a spinning brush can alarm a dog that is not used to them. If your dog is nervous about noise, a manual cup is the calmer first step. We found no noise data for any of these.

Eufy Automatic Dog Paw Cleaner

Electric paw washer

Model
Not stated by maker
Power
built-in rechargeable 2600 mAh battery
Paw width fits
2.3–3.5 in
Dog weight (maker guidance)
Not stated by maker
Bristles
Not stated by maker
Dishwasher safe
Not stated by maker

What the maker says

  • Designed for large and medium dogs
  • One wash per day of 4-5 min: full charge lasts about two weeks (maker, varies with usage)

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: service.eufy.com

Paw cleaning mats

A mat is the no-water, no-cup option: the dog walks across it and the pile soaks up and holds the dirt. The Soggy Doggy doormat is the one we have maker data for. The Large is 26 × 36 in and the X-Large is 36 × 60 in, both with a 1 in pile. A retailer listing describes the mats as machine washable and dryer safe with a non-slip backing.

A mat helps most at a back door where the dog walks in from a muddy yard. It does not wash between the pads the way bristles do, and it will not fit in a car. For a large dog, the bigger size gives more steps on the pile before the dog reaches the floor.

Soggy Doggy Microfiber Doormat Large

Paw cleaning mat

Size
Large
Dimensions (in)
26 x 36
Pile height
1 in

What the maker says

  • Machine washable and dryer safe, non-slip backing (retailer listing)

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: scheels.com, soggydoggydoormat.com

Soggy Doggy Microfiber Doormat X-Large

Paw cleaning mat

Size
X-Large
Dimensions (in)
36 x 60
Pile height
1 in

What the maker says

  • Machine washable and dryer safe, non-slip backing (retailer listing)

Specs checked October 13, 2026 · Source: soggydoggydoormat.com

Listed, no maker specs found yet

This product is in our catalog, but we found no maker-published specifications for it, so it is not compared above.

  • Arcadia Trail paw cleaner and scrubbing brush (seen in older PetSmart captures)

How to measure your dog's paw width

Every size decision on this page comes down to one number: the widest point of a front paw, measured with the dog standing. The full method is on the size finder page, where you can type your number and see which published ranges include it. If you are near a boundary (say 3.5 in, where Medium ends and Large begins), read the maker's page for that size before ordering.

Cleaning and caring for the cup

  • Rinse the cup and bristles right after use, so dried mud does not stiffen them.
  • Pull out hair caught in the bristles before it dries.
  • Let the cup dry fully with the lid off before storing, to avoid a damp smell.
  • Check the maker's page before putting any cup in a dishwasher. We could not confirm a dishwasher statement for most models, and the table shows "Not stated by maker" where we did not.

For the routine that goes with the cup, from water to drying between the toes, read how to clean dog paws. For salt and ice-melt season, see winter paw care.

Limits of this comparison

This is a specifications comparison, not a performance test. It cannot tell you which cup cleans best, lasts longest or is easiest to rinse. It also relies on maker-published numbers, and makers sometimes revise them. If you find an error, tell us through the contact page and we will check it against the maker.

Frequently asked questions

Do paw washers work?
They are built for loose mud, sand and grit: you put a little water in the cup, push the paw in and twist so the bristles brush between the pads, then towel the paw dry. We found no independent test of how well they work, so that is the maker's design intent, not a measured result. Fit matters most. A paw too wide for the cup will not go in, and a cup much too big leaves the bristles out of reach.
Is a paw cleaner worth it?
It depends on how often your dog comes home muddy. For occasional dirt, a towel and a bowl of water do the same job for nothing. A cup earns its place when the mud is a routine, when you want something that stays by the door or in the car, or when you would rather not carry a dog to the sink. It does not help a dog that refuses to put a paw in.
What is the best device for cleaning paws?
There is no single best device, only a best fit. Pick the size whose maker-published range contains your dog's measured paw width. MudBuster publishes paw-width ranges for all three sizes. Paw Plunger publishes weight ranges only. The Eufy is the only electric washer we list, and it publishes a range, so check it before you buy.
What is the best automatic paw cleaner?
The Eufy Automatic Dog Paw Cleaner is the only electric washer we list, because it publishes specs: a 2.3 to 3.5 in paw-width range, outer dimensions and a battery rating. That makes it the easiest to check against your dog. It is not proof that it cleans better. We list no other electric washer, because we found no maker-published specs for any.
Do dog paw cleaner mats work?
A mat dries and traps dirt from paws that walk across it, with no water step. The Soggy Doggy mats listed here have a 1 in pile and are described by a retailer as machine washable with a non-slip backing. We found no independent measurement of how much dirt a mat removes, and a mat will not reach between the pads the way bristles can.
What do vets recommend for cleaning dog paws?
We are not veterinarians and do not cite a vet on this page. General guidance from pet organizations is to wipe or rinse paws after walks and dry them well, and to ask your own vet about cracked pads, redness or constant licking. Our how-to page covers the routine step by step.